Wayne Metropolitan Community Action Agency: Truman High School

 

Unfortunately, I don’t feel like I’ve got a very tangible grasp of my experience at Truman High School yet. This is because I have only worked with my Site Manager once and been to the actual site twice.  So far, my biggest accomplishment is learning all of the students’ names. They were so excited when they didn’t see me for two weeks and I still remembered their names. It also made me pretty happy because that was my main goal for my second day with them: “Ok, Holly. It’s been two weeks since you’ve met them… And there are some pretty unique names… But you’ve got this.”

 At first I felt like more of a burden than someone there to help but I feel like the students are starting to like me. It was kind of a culture shock for me to work with High School students after being in AmeriCorps NCCC. Working with young adults is drastically different than these students. Thankfully, I am not one to hold grudges and I think that the students are noticing this. When I correct them, or have to get stern with the rules, I address it then move on. I don’t like to hold it against them for the rest of the day unless their attitude doesn’t change. This is actually pretty effective for them. The most diverse factor that is apparent to me is their emotional maturity. This is not the type of diversity that I initially expected but I am quickly learning that each of them needs a different approach when it comes to instruction but they all respond well when they feel respected.

 

The great thing about this organization is that I never know what to expect. On Monday, part of my task was to have one of the students paint my nails (Monday’s Enrichment activity is learning how to do nails with an expert). It’s hard to say what I’ll be doing each time but as of right now, my day consists of:

12:30pm-1:30pm: assist Group Leaders with planning and set up for daily activities/sessions.

 1:30pm-2:20pm: clean and set up the cafeteria for program day

 2:20pm-2:30pm: make sure students sign in and begin finding out which ones have homework

 2:30pm-3:15pm: assist with homework/tutoring

3:15pm-5:00pm: assist with enrichment sessions or Parenting tasks as needed*

*I am working on a project with my site supervisor on trying to get more parent involvement. I am not entirely sure of my responsibilities yet but it’s starting with creating a spreadsheet with they’re contact information and creating a newsletter for the parents so they can stay updated on upcoming events for the program. This is going to be an on-going effort to get the parents involved throughout their student’s journey with the program.

