“Constructivism as a paradigm or worldview posits that learning is an active, constructive process. The learner is an information constructor. People actively construct or create their own subjective representations of objective reality. New information is linked to to prior knowledge, thus mental representations are subjective” (http://www.learning-theories.com/constructivism.html).

        Let me be clear– I do not believe that it’s possible successfully educate our students by following only one of the theoretical frameworks that have been presented to us. With that said, I think that the philosophy that will best work for me is Constructivism. WIth constructivism, we use multiple real world contexts, strategies, and coaching. We create countless environments for the learner, so he gets to practice thinking in different ways. Being that I want to be an English teacher, I feel like Constructivism will be the most applicable to my area. It encourages original thought. It encourages our students to use their existing knowledge and branch out from there.

        When it comes to the basics (grammer, key terms, etc) I feel like Behaviorism will be most effective. However, constructivism will come in handy (especially) when reading literature; because literature is all about your interpretation mixed with the intentions of the author. Therefore, the student will need to develop an understanding of how the author operates and what message is being sent. This is where constructivism comes in. It is up to the teacher to set an atmosphere, paint a picture of the life that the author lived, and to know more than what’s on the page. With these things, the teacher can provide the necessary means for the student to be on the right track.

 

The main way I plan to be an effective educator is to stay motivated by my passion for education. It sounds cliche but I truly believe that students learn more when their teacher is enthusiastic about their subject and their students. So how will I become an effective educator that’s committed to diversity? The same exact way–being passionate about my students. That means all of them. This also means taking the time to stay current with social injustices in our society and making sure that my students are in an atmosphere where they can discuss these topics in a safe and respectful way.

 

